Galway rally after Connacht loss to beat Dublin to book All Ireland minor semi-final spot

Galway 0-10

Dublin 0-7

Reporting by Kevin Egan at O’Connor Park

A GOOD WEEKEND for teams trying to bounce back from Electric Ireland’s Minor Football Championship provincial final defeats continued this afternoon in Tullamore, when Galway, who have lost three out of six games in their campaign of Connacht, completely dominated a Dublin side that went through to the Leinster Championship.

Galway will now face Derry in the All-Ireland semi-final, with Kerry awaiting winners Kildare and Mayo, who are now the only provincial winners still in contention.

The Dubs might have few complaints about the loss after playing second fiddle to the Tribesmen for long stretches, especially in the middle third of the pitch. Galway repelled four good chances during the hour, while Dublin never had those chances to test Kyle Gilmore, between the Galway posts.

Assisted by the wind, the Dubs burst blocks with the game’s first four points and looked particularly lively on the right flank, with Pierce Donohue and Joe Quigley giving excellent scores from that side of the pitch. However, they struggled to continue feeding their men inside with good possession, as the warning signs were there defensively as Galway opened them up for three good scoring chances.

Stephen Curley fired a penalty after Shay McGlinchey was stumbled, while Jack Lonergan had another effort brilliantly saved by David Leonard. Even Fionn O’Connor’s 17th-minute opener could easily have been a goal, but instead spun just feet over the bar.

Lonergan, Shay McGlinchey, Éanna Monaghan and Cillian Trayers all took control of their key diamond positions, and Galway took a well-deserved 0-5, 0-4 lead into the break.

A superb point from Quigley leveled things after half-time, but a second yellow card for winger Luke O’Boyle put further pressure on the Dubs, and Galway’s sharper passing and ball-carrying created a series of chances.

Excellent points from Fionn O’Connor, Seán Dunne, Tomás Farthing and Colm Costello saw the tribesmen move ahead by four points, and while Dublin closed that gap through Clyde Burke, the goalscoring chance they yearning to salvage their season never seemed to come, despite adding an extra eight minutes.

Scorers for Galway: F O’Connor 0-2, J Lonergan 0-1, S McGlinchey 0-1, E Monaghan 0-1f, S Dunne 0-1, C Costello 0-1, O Morgan 0-1, T Farthing 0-1, Oh Kelly 0-1.

Scorers for Dublin: J Quigley 0-3, P Donohue 0-2, L O’Boyle 0-1, C Burke 0-1.


1. Kyle Gilmore (Cortoon Shamrocks)

4. Vinny Gill (Corofin), 3. Ryan Flaherty (Claregalway), 2. Tomás Farthing (An Sp Idéal)

5. Mark Mannion (Salthill-Knocknacarra), 6. Cillian Travers (Claregalway), 7. Ross Coen. (Corofin)

8. Jack Lonergan (Claregalway), 9. Shay McGlinchey (Tuam Stars)

10. Seán Dunne (Bearna), 13. Éanna Monaghan (Claregalway), 11. Owen Morgan (Claregalway)

22. Fionn O’Connor (An Spideal), 12. Stephen Curley (Annaghdown), 15. Colm Costello (Dunmore MacHales)

Subtitles: Charlie Cox (Moycullen) for O’Connor (48), Olan Kelly (Annaghdown) for Dunne (54), Luke Carr (Killanin) for Curley (58), James Summerville (St. Michael’s) for McGlinchey (60+1), Cian Dolan (Monivea-Abbey) for Lonergan (60+3).


Get closer to the stories that matter with exclusive analysis, insight and debate in The42 Membership.

Become a member


1. David Leonard (Ballymun Kickhams)

2. Emmet Brady (St. Brigid’s), 3. Daniel McCarthy (Ballyboden St. Enda’s), 17. Oscar Donohoe (Na Fianna)

5. James Brady (St. Vincent’s), 6. David Lucey (Kilmacud Crokes), 7. Tim Deering (Skerries Harps)

8. Dylan Clark (Castleknock), 9. Nathan Fitzgerald (Erin’s Isle)

10. Paul Reynolds Hand (St. Vincent), 15. David Mulqueen (Lucan Sarsfields), 12. Luke O’Boyle (Clontarf)

14. Ciarán Donovan (Kilmacud Crokes), 21. Pierce Donohue (New Year’s Eve), 13. Joe Quigley (Kilmacud Crokes)

Subtitles: Clyde Burke (St. Pat’s, Donabate) for Donovan (halftime), Jamie Smith (Lucan Sarsfields) for Brady (halftime), Charlie McMorrow (Cuala) for Fitzgerald (36), Seán Doyle (Castleknock) for Deering ( 52), Shane Mullarkey (Thomas Davis) for Mulqueen (56), Conal Ó Ríain (Kilmacud Crokes) for Reynolds Hand (60+4).

Arbitrator: David Murnane (Liege)

Comments are closed.